All initial licensure applications are approved by the Board. It may take eight to twelve weeks after your application is complete to issue
your permanent license. We process applications in date order of receipt. You can help us process
your application by making sure you complete the application correctly and by submitting the correct fees
and supporting documentation.
Try to apply well in advance of when you intend to start work in Alaska or when you plan to sit for the
You will be notified soon after your application has been reviewed. Wait for your first
status update to reach you before calling the Division to ask for status updates.
No, scanned or faxed documents are not acceptable.
You will find a list of the requirements in the General Instructions, which is page 1 of the Application
for Licensure. For additional information, including education and experience requirements, you may
review the statutes and regulations published on the website.
Mail a written request to the Board of Public Accountancy, 550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1500, Anchorage, AK 99501
along with a $20.00 money order or check made payable to the State of Alaska. Allow three weeks
processing time from the date we receive your request.
Yes, licensing records are public documents and available to members of the public upon written
request and payment of copying fees. Information considered confidential and not releasable to the
general public include social security numbers, examination scores/transcripts, medical records and
other information considered confidential by state or federal law. Your address of record is public
information and is displayed on the division’s internet licensing search program. Licensees have
expressed concern that their address is so readily available. Some licensees have elected to have a
post office box or practice location for their official address of record to avoid having their residential
address easily accessible. Please be advised that all notices from the Board (renewal notices,
licenses, and other legal documents) will be mailed to the address of record provided.
We must receive the request in writing within 60 days of your change of address. We will accept a
fax, e-mail, or written notice that comes directly from the licensee or applicant. We cannot accept a
telephone call for a change of address. Board mailing address: 550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1500, Anchorage, AK 99501; Fax: (907) 269-8156 or email firstname.lastname@example.org.
To change your name, mail an original Certified True Copy of the legal document that reflects the
name change OR download the Name Change Affidavit form from this web site (a copy of the legal
document must accompany the change). A $5.00 fee payable to the State of Alaska must
accompany the name change request. Board mailing address: 550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1500, Anchorage, AK 99501.
To obtain a Certified True Copy, take the original document and a photocopy to a notary public so
he/she may compare the original to the photocopy of the document. Either the applicant or the notary
must write, “I certify this to be a true copy of the original document” on the photocopy and attest to
that fact by signing the document and having it notarized.
All licenses issued by the Board of Public Accountancy expire on December 31 of odd-numbered
years. New licenses issued within one year of the current expiration date will be issued a permanent
license to December 31 of the current expiration date. For example, a CPA license issued in August
of 2013 will be valid until December 31, 2013. New licenses issued within 90 days of the current
expiration date will be issued a permanent license through the next licensing period. For example, a
CPA license issued in October of 2013 will be valid until December 2015.
No, licensees who received a permanent license within one year of the current expiration
date do have to renew, but will pay only one-half of the renewal fee.
Renewal notices are mailed at least 30 days before the expiration date to the address we have on file
for you. If you have a change of address, don’t wait until the last minute to give us that information,
otherwise, your renewal form may be delayed in getting to you. Failure to receive a renewal notice
does not relieve a licensee from the responsibility of renewing a license on time.
Reinstatement requirements are set out in the “Application for Reinstatement” form available from this
web site. Please be aware that continuing education used to “reinstate” your license may not be used
to “renew” your license.
No. Alaska is a one-tier state. This means that you will not receive a certificate for passing all
sections of the exam. However, we can provide a verification of your successful passage of the exam
to another state for a fee of $20 payable to the State of Alaska.
Send questions to email@example.com