Our Mission: Promote a healthy economy, strong communities, and protect consumers in Alaska.

Commissioner Susan K. Bell

Susan Bell was appointed Commissioner of the Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development in July 2010. She is committed to developing Alaska's energy resources; promoting our products and services worldwide; and improving our business climate.

Susan serves on the board of directors of Alaska Industrial Development and Export Authority (AIDEA), Alaska Energy Authority (AEA), Alaska Railroad Corporation, Alaska Gasline Development Corporation (AGDC), and as state co-chair of the Denali Commission.

Prior to joining Governor Parnell's administration, Susan worked closely with community leaders and residents throughout Alaska, ANCSA corporations, nonprofit organizations, tribal entities, and state and federal agencies. Prior positions include McDowell Group Principal, Goldbelt Vice President, and Juneau Convention and Visitors Bureau President and CEO.

Born and raised in Alaska, Susan is a shareholder of Bering Straits Native Corporation and Sitnasuak Native Corporation. She received a bachelor's degree from the University of Alaska. She volunteers for Big Brothers Big Sisters and enjoys spending time outdoors.

Deputy Commissioner Bittner
Jon Bittner
Deputy Commissioner
Deputy Commissioner Parady
Fred Parady
Deputy Commissioner
Office Contacts:
(907) 465-2500
Jon Bittner Deputy Commissioner (907) 269-8115
Fred Parady Deputy Commissioner (907) 465-5459
Micaela Fowler Legislative Liaison (907) 465-2503
Abigail Enghirst Special Assistant (907) 269-8159
Linda Mattson Executive Secretary (907) 465-2500
Outreach Coordinator
(907) 269-8100
FAX Number
(907) 269-8125